Saturday, September 16, 2006

Whalers and Spirit both win Friday

The Mexican Hockey Tournament got underway at the Dow Event Center on Friday with the Plymouth Whalers and Saginaw Spirit each putting a notch in the win bracket.

Team Mexico and the Whalers kicked off the tournament with the Whalers winning 12-0. Brett Bellemore (2), Vern Cooper (2), Frank Grzesczak, Kaine Geldart, Dan Collins, Andrew Fournier, Steve Ward, Joe McCann, Zack Shepley and Wes Cunningham all scored. McCann, a former Spirit player, added three assists in the game.

The Spirit beat the Erie Otters, 4-1, in the nightcap. Tomas Zaborsky, Patrick Asselin, Tommy Mannino and Tyler Haskins scored to back Ryan Daniels' 26 saves in net.

The tournament resumes Saturday when the Whalers take on the Otters at 4:00 p.m. The tournament will then conclude with the highly-anticipated Mexico vs. Spirit game at 7:11 p.m.

Bellemore photo by Matt Mackinder

No comments: