Tuesday, October 16, 2007

Americans faring well in NOJHL

By Randy Russon

With 23 Americans on the roster, the Soo Indians won the 2006-07 NOJHL regular season and playoff titles. The Indians are now on hiatus from the NOJHL, but American kids continue to have a major impact on the league.

Blind River leads all NOJHL teams with six Americans: goalies Jake Rosenthal and Mike Wuthrich, defensemen Matt Bell and Brett LaValley and forwards Bryan Cooper and Alex Falardeau.

North Bay has four from south of the border on board including goalie Ian Wilson, defensemen David Ciminelli and Mike Lawler and forward A.J. Shiverdecker.

The Soo Thunderbirds also have four: rookie defensemen Ian Cosgrove, Drew Otto and Warren Webster and veteran forward Rob Johnson.

And Manitoulin has a pair: backup goalie Ben Caneba and defenseman Michael Barrett.

No comments: