Wednesday, April 02, 2008

Spirit names '07-08 award winners at banquet

The Saginaw Spirit hosted their sixth annual Meijer Award Ceremony Tuesday night at TheDow Event Center.

The ceremony is a chance for players and fans to celebrate the previous season and to look forward to the next. Players, staff and fans voted on several awards, which were given out during the ceremony.

Spirit captain Ryan McDonough was awarded the team's ‘Most Valuable Player Award' and the prestigious ‘Wren Blair Leadership Award.'

Rookie Jordan Szwarz was honored with the ‘Most Valuable Rookie Award' and defenseman T.J. Brodie was given the ‘Most Valuable Defenseman Award.'

Defenseman Jordan Ogilvie was recognized with the ‘Most Improved Player Award.'

Spirit assistant captain Jack Combs and rookie Tyler Murovich shared honors on two occasions – both were chosen for the ‘Fan Favorite Award' and the ‘Top Scholar Award.' Combs attended Davenport University during the season while Murovich attended Nouvel Catholic Central High School. The two also received awards in separate categories.

Combs, who was the first Spirit player in team history to secure 100 points during a single season, brought in the team's ‘Top Scorer Award.'

Murovich was honored with the teams ‘Heart and Soul Award.'

Goalie Ryan Daniels capped off this season's accolades with the ‘Community Service Award,' given to him for his efforts promoting the Spirit product in the greater mid-Michigan community.

No comments: