Saturday, June 21, 2008

OHL, NTDP players drafted in Ottawa

Three Saginaw Spirit players and a pair from the Plymouth Whalers heard their names called Saturday in Ottawa, Ontario, at the NHL Entry Draft.

Adam Comrie, D, Florida (80th overall), Saginaw

AJ Jenks, F, Florida (100th overall), Plymouth
Michal Jordan, D, Carolina (105th overall), Plymouth
TJ Brodie, D, Calgary (114th overall), Saginaw

Nick Crawford, D, Buffalo (164th overall), Saginaw

*Forward Zac Dalpe, Plymouth's second-round draft pick from May's OHL Priority Selection who has committed to Ohio State, was taken by Carolina in the second round (45th overall).

In addition, 11 players who competed for the U.S. National Team Development Program were drafted over the two-day event.

With the seventh overall pick, the Nashville Predators selected forward Colin Wilson, who recently completed his freshman season at Boston University.

The other NTDP selections included forward Philip McRae (second round, 33rd overall, St Louis Blues); forward Danny Kristo (second round, 56th overall, Montreal Canadiens); forward Jimmy Hayes (second round, 60th overall, Toronto Maple Leafs); forward Robbie Czarnik (third round, 63rd overall, Los Angeles Kings); forward Vinny Saponari (fourth round, 94th overall, Atlanta Thrashers); defenseman David Warsofsky (fourth round, 95th overall, St. Louis Blues); defenseman Ryan Hegarty (fouth round, 113th overall, Anaheim Ducks); defenseman Sean Lorenz (fourth round, 115th overall, Minnesota Wild); forward David Wohlberg (sixth round, 172nd overall, New Jersey Devils); and defenseman Nick Pryor (seventh round, 208 overall, Anaheim).

No comments: