Wednesday, June 01, 2011

NAHL announces divisional realignment

The North American Hockey League has announced its divisional alignment for the 2011-12 season.

The 28-team league will be divided into five divisions: the Central, North, Midwest, South and West.

Five teams will compete in the Midwest Division: the Chicago Hitmen, Coulee Region Chill, Janesville Jets, Springfield Jr. Blues and St. Louis Bandits.

The Jamestown Ironmen, Kalamazoo Jr. K-Wings, Michigan Warriors, Port Huron Fighting Falcons and Traverse City North Stars will play in the five-team North Division.

Five teams will also compete in the Central Division: the Aberdeen Wings, Alexandria Blizzard, Austin Bruins, Bismarck Bobcats and Minot Minotauros.

In the South Division, seven teams will compete: the Amarillo Bulls, Corpus Christi IceRays, New Mexico Mustangs, Odessa Jackalopes, Texas Tornado, Topeka RoadRunners and Wichita Falls Wildcats.

Six teams will play in the West Division: the Alaska Avalanche, Dawson Creek Rage, Fairbanks Ice Dogs, Fresno Monsters, Kenai River Brown Bears and Wenatchee Wild.

The 2011-12 regular-season schedule will be announced in the coming weeks.

2011-12 NAHL Divisional Alignment

Midwest Divsion
Chicago Hitmen
Coulee Region Chill
Janesville Jets
Springfield Jr. Blues
St. Louis Bandits

North Division
Jamestown Ironmen
Kalamazoo Jr. K-Wings
Michigan Warriors
Port Huron Fighting Falcons
Traverse City North Stars

Central Division
Aberdeen Wings
Alexandria Blizzard
Austin Bruins
Bismarck Bobcats
Minot Minotauros

South Division
Amarillo Bulls
Corpus Christi IceRays
New Mexico Mustangs
Odessa Jackalopes
Texas Tornado
Topeka RoadRunners
Wichita Falls Wildcats

West Division
Alaska Avalanche
Dawson Creek Rage
Fairbanks Ice Dogs
Fresno Monsters
Kenai River Brown Bears
Wenatchee Wild

No comments: