Thursday, March 08, 2012

NTDP names evaluation camp attendees

Fifty-three of the top American players born in 1996 have been invited to USA Hockey’s National Team Development Program Evaluation Camp, it was announced today by USA Hockey.

The camp, which is held to help select the 2012-13 U.S. National Under-17 Team, will take place March 19-23 at the Ann Arbor Ice Cube.

"We have a terrific group of players and look for the talent level and competitiveness to be high,” said NTDP director of player personnel Peter Ward.

The players will be divided into three teams - Red, White and Blue - and will participate in on-ice practices, off-ice training, four 30-minute games and two full games. Each team will consist of nine forwards, six defensemen and two goaltenders.

NTDP alum Brett Henning (1997-98) will serve as a coach at the camp, guiding Team Blue. In addition, NTDP assistant coaches Matt Curley and Tyler Eaves will guide Team White and Team Red, respectively.

For a complete roster of the invitees, click here.

NOTES: The 53 players on the NTDP Evaluation Camp roster represent 17 different states. Minnesota leads the way with seven natives on the roster, while Illinois and New York each boast six.

Michigan has five - Belle Tire Midget Minor forwards Kyle Connor (Shelby Township), Dylan Larkin (Waterford) and Dylan Pavelek (Marysville), Honeybaked Midget Minor defenseman Joshua Jacobs (Shelby Township) and Belle Tire Midget Minor blueliner Ryan Mantha (Clarkston).

No comments: