Friday, January 23, 2009

Spirit and Whalers captains named All-Stars

The Ontario Hockey League and the host Windsor Spitfires announced the rosters for the 2009 Subway OHL All-Star Classic on Thursday.

Saginaw Spirit captain Chris Chappell and goalie Edward Pasquale were named to the Western Conference roster along with Plymouth Whalers captain Chris Terry.

The annual event pits some of the league’s best players in a two-day event with a skills competition on Feb. 3 and the game itself on Feb. 4.

Chappell (pictured) has spent four seasons with the Spirit and was named the team’s captain for the 2008-2009 season. The 1988-born Pickering, Ont., native is the team’s current scoring leader with 23 goals and 27 assists in 44 games.

Pasquale has anchored the net for Saginaw in 41 games this season, his third in the league and second with the Spirit. The 1990-born Toronto native has posted a 2.77 goals-against average and a .915 save percentage this season.

Terry, a 19-year-old native of Brampton, Ont., was Plymouth's second-round pick in 2005 and led the team in scoring last year with 101 points. He currently sits second in Whalers' scoring this season with 22 goals and 43 points in 30 games. Terry, defenseman Wes Cunningham and goalie Jeremy Smith represented the Whalers at last year's game in Sault Ste. Marie, Ont.

The Spirit hosted the All-Star Classic in Saginaw in January 2007. Tom Pyatt, Patrick McNeill and Ryan O’Marra represented the Spirit in that event. Last season, Jack Combs attended the event on behalf of the Spirit.

No comments: