Wednesday, September 02, 2009

Eagles set 25-man roster, six back

Courtesy Sault Ste. Marie Evening News

The Soo Eagles Junior A hockey team has announced its 25-man roster for the upcoming season.

The Eagles have six players returning, including forwards Peter Formolo, Ryan McAleese, Jake Watchorn and Jake Johnson and defensemen Anthony Raymond and Ryan Axsom.

“This is going to be a physical team that can skate, hit and move the puck,” Eagles GM Dave Guisbert said.

New forwards and their former teams include Clayton Brackett (Bay State Breakers), Joseph DeLisle (Marquette Electricians Midget AAA), Josh Camiller (Maine Moose Jr. A), Brian Depp (Little Caesars Midget AAA), Aaron Leonard (Belle Tire Midget AAA), Kevin Michelcavage (Notre Dame Prep HS), Jordan Crews (Pen Inforcers Jr. A), Kyle Slicker (Orchard Lake HS), Justin Scott (Soo Indians Midget AAA) and Philip Webb (Little Caesars Midget AAA).

New defensemen for the Eagles include Frank Asztalos (West Bloomfield HS), Joseph Spitzer (Chicago Blues), Ryan Teal (Anchor Bay HS), Brendan Tuchowski (Marquette Electricians Midget AAA), Jimmy Morris (Soo Indians Midget AAA) and Sam Hadar (Lansing Capitals Midget AAA).

Eagles goalies are Clayton Brown (LaSalle HS), John Kleinhans (DeLaSalle Collegiate HS) and Michael Doan (St. Mary’s HS).

As they enter their second season in the Northern Ontario Junior Hockey League, the Eagles will again be in the league’s Western Division. The Eagles begin the season with an exhibition game against the NAHL's Marquette Rangers on Sept. 11 and 12 at Pullar Stadium. The first regular season home game is Sept. 19.


No comments: