Thursday, September 03, 2009

Three state natives on NTDP U-17 team

USA Hockey's National Team Development Program today announced the 21-player roster for its 2009-10 U.S. National Under-17 Team.

The squad, comprised of some of the top American-born players in the 1993 birth-year, will take on opponents from the United States Hockey League and as well as compete in three international competitions over the course of the season.

Team USA will carry eight defensemen in 2009-10 including Barrett Kaib (Upper St. Clair, Pa.), Jake McCabe (Eau Claire, Wis.), Connor Murphy (Dublin, Ohio), Michael Paliotta (West Port, Conn.), Alexx Privitera (Old Tappan, N.J.), Robbie Russo (Westmont, Ill.), Andy Ryan (Brighton) and Matt Van Voorhis (Edina, Minn.).

The U.S. will look to 11 forwards to carry the offense including Cole Bardreau (Fairport, N.Y.), Tyler Biggs (Cincinnati, Ohio), Reid Boucher (Grand Ledge), Travis Boyd (Hopkins, Minn.), Dan Carlson (Corcoran, Minn.), Rocco Grimaldi (Rossmoor, Calif.), Ryan Haggerty (Stamford, Conn.), Zac Larraza (Scottsdale, Ariz.), J.T. Miller (East Palestine, Ohio), Blake Pietila (Brighton) and Adam Reid (Chino Hills, Calif.).

Backstopping Team USA will be goaltenders John Gibson (Pittsburgh, Pa.) and Matt McNeely (Burnsville, Minn.).

Ron Rolston, a Flint native who returns for his sixth season as a head coach at the NTDP, will be at the helm of the U.S. National Under-17 Team. Chadd Cassidy will serve as the assistant coach as he enters his fourth season in Ann Arbor. Matt Greason joins the NTDP as the graduate assistant coach for the Under-17s.

For the complete roster, click here.

No comments: