Friday, May 04, 2007

OHL Priority Selection on tap Saturday

The 2007 OHL Priority Selection will take place Saturday at 9:00 a.m.

Steven Stamkos of the Markham Waxers was the first overall pick of the Sarnia Sting in the 2006 OHL Priority Selection. Stamkos racked up 105 goals and 92 assists for 197 points for the Waxers, who won the OHL Cup Minor Midget Showcase Tournament last March. The Oshawa Generals followed up by selecting defenceman Michael Del Zotto of the Waxers. It was the first time in history that the first two picks in the OHL Priority Selection have come from the same team. The Mississauga IceDogs selected defenceman Alex Pietrangelo from the Jr. Canadiens third overall. The Erie Otters selected defenceman Mitch Gaulton from the Toronto Red Wings with the fourth overall pick and the Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds rounded out the top five when they selected James Livingston from the York Simcoe Express.

2007 OHL Priority Selection - Order of Selection (First Round)

1. Erie Otters
2. Windsor Spitfires
3. Toronto St. Michael's Majors
4. Peterborough Petes
5. Brampton Battalion
6. Ottawa 67's
7. Sudbury Wolves
8. Owen Sound Attack
9. Kingston Frontenacs
10. Oshawa Generals
11. Guelph Storm
12. Sarnia Sting
13. Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds
14. Belleville Bulls
15. Mississauga IceDogs
16. Saginaw Spirit
17. Barrie Colts
18. Kitchener Rangers
19. Plymouth Whalers
20. London Knights

Jack Ferguson Award History

The "Fergie" is presented annually to the player selected first overall in the Ontario Hockey League Priority Selection. The award recognizes the dedication and contributions made by Jack Ferguson during his 25 year association with the Ontario Hockey League, first as a scout with the Ottawa 67's and followed by his appointment as head of the OHL's Central Scouting Bureau in 1981 as its Director of Central Scouting.

Past Winners of the Jack Ferguson Award:

Year Player Team
1981 Dan Quinn, Belleville
1982 Kirk Muller, Guelph
1983 Trevor Stienburg, Guelph
1984 Dave Moylan, Sudbury
1985 Bryan Fogarty, Kingston
1986 Troy Mallette, S.S. Marie
1987 John Uniac, Sudbury
1988 Drake Berehowsky, Kingston
1989 Eric Lindros, S.S. Marie
1990 Pat Peake, Detroit
1991 Todd Harvey, Detroit
1992 Jeff O'Neill, Guelph
1993 Alyn McCauley, Ottawa
1994 Jeff Brown, Sarnia
1995 Daniel Tkaczuk, Barrie
1996 Rico Fata, London
1997 Charlie Stephens, Toronto
1998 Jay Harrison, Brampton
1999 Jason Spezza, Mississauga
2000 Patrick Jarrett, Mississauga
2001 Patrick O'Sullivan, Mississauga
2002 Robbie Schremp, Mississauga
2003 Patrick McNeill, Saginaw
2004 John Hughes, Belleville
2005 John Tavares, Oshawa
2006 Steven Stamkos, Sarnia

No comments: