Thursday, May 31, 2007

Whalers name '06-07 award winners

The Plymouth Whalers held their annual season-ending banquet last night at the Laurel Manor in Livonia and handed out a slew of awards to a handful of players from the 2006-2007 OHL champions.

Scholastic Player of the Year - Joe Gaynor
Grinder of the Year - Joe McCann and Andrew Fournier
Fan Favorite - Tom Sestito

Alice Iafrate Overager of the Year - Jared Boll and Steve Ward
Regular Season Top Scorer - Evan Brophey (36g, 71a, 107pts)
Top Defenseman - Steve Ward
Labatt Blue Collar Player of the Year - Jared Boll
Barbara Karmanos Humanitarian of the Year - Steve Ward
Academic Player of the Year - AJ Jenks
Unsung Hero - Zack Shepley
Most Improved Player - Brett Bellemore
Rookie of the Year - Michal Neuvirth
Regular Season MVP - Tom Sestito
Playoffs Top Scorer - James Neal (13g, 12a, 25pts)
Playoffs MVP - James Neal

All players were in attendance, save for goalie Jeremy Smith, who is at the NHL Combine in Toronto. Smith on Wednesday was also named USA Hockey's Dave Peterson Goalie of the Year after appearing in 34 regular-season contests with the Whalers and posting a 23-6-0-1 record with a 2.59 goals-against average and a .923 save percentage. He's also the top-rated North American goaltender for the NHL Entry Draft June 22-23.

Photo by Walt Dmoch

No comments: