Sunday, May 17, 2009

Saginaw doles out awards, co-MVPs named

The Saginaw Spirit wrapped up the 2008-2009 season with its annual awards ceremony Saturday night.

The players and their families joined Spirit fans and sponsors in remembering the successes of the past season and to welcome the newest prospects to the Spirit organization.

In addition, the team made the announcement that Anthony Camara, Saginaw’s first-round pick in the 2009 OHL Priority Selection, will be signing with the team for next season.

Several Spirit players received awards for their efforts last season. Spirit veteran Jack Combs took home the Fan Favorite Award, while forward Mitch Fillman earned the Rookie of the Year Award, Cody Sol netted the Most Improved Player award and defenseman T.J. Brodie was awarded the Top Defenseman.

Captain Chris Chappell was recognized with the Top Scorer Award for his 76 points and was also the recipient of the Wren Blair Leadership Award as well. Chappell also shared MVP honors with goalie Edward Pasquale.

Like Chappell, forward Tyler Murovich (pictured) had a big night with being recognized with the Community Service Award, the Heart and Soul Award and the team’s OHL University Academic Award. Other academic award winners included forward Jordan Szwarz with the OHL High School Academic Award, Sol with the Nouvel Catholic Central High School Academic Award and forward Joe Pleckaitis with the Northwood University Academic Award.

The ceremony was held in conjunction with the team’s rookie camp, which was conducted at the Bay County Civic Arena Saturday and Sunday. Saginaw’s top prospects participated in off-ice exercises before hitting the ice in two rookie camp scrimmages.

No comments: