Thursday, August 04, 2005

IceDiggers set roster for training camp

Alpena forward Ricardo Yesue

The Alpena IceDiggers completed their main camp Tuesday and in the process whittled down their campers to a final 28-man training camp roster.

Ten players return from last season's Toledo team - goalie Justin Marriott, forwards Nolan Craner, Steve Culbertson, Ross Enmark, Jake Hovick, Brandon Moran, Sam Yearsley and Ricardo Yesue and defensemen Jeff Miller and Adam Snead. Also making the roster are Alpena natives Erik Peterson and C.J. MacKenzie.

"We are happy with the 28 guys we are bringing in for training camp" said IceDiggers coach and general manager Ken Miller. "(Assistant coach) Kelly (Miller) and I feel we have a good core of veterans as well as young guys willing to work hard and make this a successful season here in Alpena."

Of the 28 players returning, not all will make the team's opening day roster. The team will trim one player on Aug. 13 and cut two more by Sept. 1.

"We will look over our roster prior to September 1 and make the necessary moves to help our club," said Miller. "We will keep the hardest working 25 players."

Bold denotes returning player

G Justin Marriott
G Mitch Rybicki
G Phil Greer
D Brad Benson
D Josh Brown
D Chris Lanciano
D Ben Kitzmiller
D Kory O'Brien
D Tim Okicki
D Eric Roman
D Adam Snead
F Zach Barron
F Nolan Craner
F Steve Culbertson

F Taylor Doorlag
F Ross Enmark
F Jake Hovick

F C.J. MacKenzie
F Jeff Miller
F Brandon Moran
F Erik Peterson
F Drew Pierson
F Todd Rudasill
F Justin Stadler
F Matt Suggs
F Andrew Wilcox
F Sam Yearsley
F Ricardo Yesue

No comments: