Friday, January 19, 2007

All-Star rosters announced for Saginaw game

The Ontario Hockey League announced Wednesday the rosters of players who will compete in the 2007 OHL All-Star Classic on Wednesday, January 31, 2007 at the Dow Event Center in Saginaw.

The Western Conference roster was selected by the management team of Mike Futa of the Owen Sound Attack and Mike Vellucci of the Plymouth Whalers. The Eastern Conference roster was selected by the management team of Stan Butler of the Brampton Battalion and Dave Brown of the Mississauga IceDogs.

The teams will be coached by Dale Hunter of the London Knights and Marty Williamson of the Barrie Colts.

The rosters include eight players who won the gold medal with Team Canada at the World Junior Championships earlier this month including Steve Downie, Kitchener Rangers, Sam Gagner, London Knights, James Neal, Plymouth Whalers, Ryan Parent, Guelph Storm who along with Ryan O’Marra and Tom Pyatt of the Saginaw Spirit will represent the Western Conference.

Bryan Little, Barrie Colts, and Marc Staal of the Sudbury Wolves will represent the Eastern Conference.

Americans Patrick Kane, London Knights and Trevor Lewis, Owen Sound Attack also played in the World Junior Championship earlier this month in Sweden and will be representing the Western Conference in the All-Star Classic.

Along with forwards O’Marra and Pyatt, defenceman Patrick McNeill will also be representing the Saginaw Spirit on home ice. McNeill will be attending his third OHL All-Star Classic, following appearances in Owen Sound in 2005 and Belleville last year.

“The players who were named today to represent the Ontario Hockey League in our All-Star Game demonstrate the high level of talent that we have playing in our league,” said David Branch, Commissioner of the OHL. “The player selection process for this event is always difficult as there are so many gifted and deserving players in the Ontario Hockey League. Being chosen to play in the All-Star Classic speaks volumes about the skill level of the 40 young men who have been selected today, to represent their respective conferences. We are very proud to have such talented players in our league and to be represented by these fine young men. We are also looking forward to hosting the All-Star Game in the city of Saginaw. The support that the entire Mid-Michigan region has shown for the OHL and the Spirit is nothing short of outstanding and we are very proud to bring this showcase event to the hockey fans of this community.”

Tickets for the 2007 OHL All-Star Classic can be purchased at the Dow Event Center Box Office or at the Saginaw Spirit Business Office. You can also call 989-497-7747 to reserve your seat for the OHL All-Star Classic.

The 2007 OHL All-Star Classic is supported by OHL partners Subway, Yamaha and Reebok.


James Neal (Ply)
Evan Brophey (Ply)
Steve Downie (Kit)
Patrick Kane (Ldn)
Sam Gagner (Ldn)
Bobby Ryan (OS)
Tom Pyatt (Sag)
Steven Stamkos (Sar)
Ryan O’Marra (Sag)
Zack Torquato (Er)
Trevor Lewis (OS)
Mickey Renaud (Wsr)

Ryan Parent (Gue)
Bobby Sanguinetti (OS)
Ryan Wilson (Sar)
Drew Doughty (Gue)
Patrick McNeill (Sag)
Josh Godfrey (SSM)

John Murray (Kit)
Thomas McCollum (Gue)


Tyler Donati (Belv)
Bryan Little (Bar)
Chris Stewart (Kgn)
Nick Foligno (Sby)
John Tavares (Osh)
Stefan Legein (Miss)
Hunter Tremblay (Bar)
Bobby Hughes (Kgn)
Brett MacLean (Osh)
Jamie McGinn (Ott)
Matt Caria (Tor)
Logan Couture (Ott)

Marc Staal (Sby)
Jonathan D’Aversa (Sby)
Michael Del Zotto (Osh)
Derek Joslin (Ott)
John de Gray (Bram)
Matt Pelech (Belv)

Andrew Perugini (Bar)
Trevor Cann (Pbo)

No comments: