Wednesday, April 04, 2007

Saginaw doles out awards at annual banquet

The Saginaw Spirit hosted their fifth annual awards ceremony Tuesday night at the Dow Event Center. Players were recognized by their teammates, staff members and fans for their on-ice and off-ice contributions to the 2006-07 season.

Below are the award winners, voted on by the players and staff, for the 2006-07 season.

The Heart and Soul Award was given to Spirit center Cody Bass. The award recognizes a player whose hard work and attitude not only pays results on the ice, but rubs off on his teammates as well.

Winger Ryan Berard won the Community Service Award.

Rookie center Andrew Clouthier was recognized as the Most Improved Player for the 2006-07 season.

Center Tyler Haskins received the Wren Blair Leadership Award, which recognizes a player whose contribution to the team goes above and beyond the score sheet, to include leadership in the locker room and off the ice.

Defenseman and captain Patrick McNeill was named the Top Defenseman for this season.

Spirit winger Jan Mursak was the co-winner of the Fan Favorite Award and was recognized as the Spirit's Rookie of the Year. Mursak, who attends Nouvel Catholic Central High School, also received the Academic Award.

Center Tom Pyatt was this season's leading scorer, team MVP and co-winner of the Fan Favorite Award.

No comments: